#Whatdoyousee, Fiction, Photo Prompt, Prompt

What Do You See? 11-16-2020 #56

What Do You See? 11-16-2020 #56

Sadje brings us her weekly “What Do You See?” Monday Challenge.  Here’s the photo:

Rules:

You can write a post on your blog and create a ping-back to link to the original post.

Write an original story, poem or a caption.

I will try to re-blog your response on my blog.

There is no limit to words or format but keep it family-friendly.

I will do a round-up next Sunday before the next Prompt is posted.

Please tag your responses with #Whatdoyousee

Or

#WDYS

Does this picture inspire you to write something?

***********

He Shouldn’t Have Missed Curfew

By Tessa Dean November 2020

It was an hour past my curfew, and I know my mom would be furious. There was nothing I could do, but ready myself for my punishment. Mom was very inventive when it came to punishments. I dragged my feet down the street. I was already late, so why rush the inevitable.

I could see the light on in the living room and her face pressed against the glass peering out, looking for me I knew. I didn’t move any faster. I was still dreading this. Then as I watched, I saw her slide down out of sight. What just happened?

I started to hurry. Had Ma fainted? She wasn’t prone to fainting, but what else could have happened? I raced across the yard and reached the door. I pushed on it, but it wouldn’t budge. She must have fallen against it.

I turned and ran to the side of the house to the window and peered in. “Ma? Ma? No, Ma, please, no.” I smashed the window and climbed inside, not noticing the cuts from the broken glass. The blood, there was so much blood. I raced across the room and turned her over. Her throat was slit. Her eyes were lifeless.

I hurried upstairs to check on my little brother. He was dead in bed. Blood everywhere, his throat slit and his eyes also lifeless.

I was in shock. Who could have done this? Oh God, what if they were still here? I got up and started back downstairs to look for the phone. Ma’s cellphone would most likely be in her pocket, which meant he would have to touch her again.

Searching quickly, he picked up the phone and ran back outside, and stood in the middle of the street while dialing 9-1-1. He screamed into the phone that his Ma and little brother had been murdered, their throats slit. There was blood everywhere, and he was all alone, and he needed help. “Oh God, please help me,” he whispered into the phone and sank to the asphalt on the street. Sirens sounded in the distance.

**********

Tessa – 

Advocate for mental health and invisible illnesses

New Author’s Website –http://www.tessadeanauthor.com

Author – Old Writing –  http://www.finallyawriter.com

About my life –  http://www.tessacandoit.com

Author of a book, a work in progress on the blog, https://tessacandoit.com/government-property-a-memoir-as-a-military-wife/

Highlighted chapters are done and ready to be read.

I am also a youtuber in the authortube section on writing. See my videos here:  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSpNS-6gfJ0s8eD1berLwQg

16 thoughts on “What Do You See? 11-16-2020 #56”

      1. It is amazing actually. I am using a lot of those types of prompts to write my thriller for NANOWRIMO this month. Bundled together they make a great story sometimes.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Thanks Sadje. In some cases I just run a weekly prompt for as long as I can make it fit into a story and those have also become longer pieces of work. More like novella’s, Not all prompts will work that way, but I have several long ones that I have gathered together and put into folders to see if I want to use them to make a longer piece. Novels seem too long for me, but a novella could be possible. My current piece is roughly 40,000 words, but it isn’t in any way finished or edited completely.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.