#Writer's Workshop, Non-Fiction, Prompt, Writing

Writer’s Workshop Prompts For May 9, 2024

John’s Rules

Here are the prompts for this week’s Writer’s Workshop:

  1. Write a post based on the word literature.
  2. Write a post in exactly 16 sentences.
  3. Describe the first time you introduced a boyfriend/girlfriend to your family.
  4. What are some of the best things you’ve done so far this year?
  5. Write about a time when the weather interfered with your plans.
  6. Write about something that bothered you this week.

**********

I chose prompt number 5. I wrote about the weather interfering with my drive to work.

**********

Too Much Snow!

Tessa Dean May 2024

I had checked my phone first thing when I got up to see if the predicted snow storm had arrived. We already had snow on the ground before the one predicted for today started. They were predicting over a foot and as most people are aware weather predicting is not a precise science. They are the only people who can be wrong every day and still keep their jobs.

I looked out the window and saw that snow was falling heavily and laying. I couldn’t tell how deep it was at that point, but it was much deeper than it had been. I still had several hours to go before it would be time to leave for work which was approximately a 45 minute drive one way. That was a lot of time for the snow to accumulate.

I noticed my dad was already outside trying to shovel an opening for my car to get out because he knew that I was required to be at work no matter what was happening in my life. Snow was not a valid excuse. He also had to shovel his car out and then the driveway which was blocked already by the snowplows coming through.

I didn’t want to drive in the snow, plus my parents needed my help later on with getting my mom ready for bed and since I would be late I would have to make up the missed time. If the snow continued at this rate, I may not be able to get back home either.

Not wanting to get into trouble, I prepared myself for the drive in what was now 2 feet of snow. Just getting to my car and getting in was a problem since the driveway was on an incline and I slipped and slid down to my car. Luckily I didn’t fall.

I headed out and the roads were not plowed very well where I lived on the back roads of the community. I finally made it out to a busy street and was able to drive easier, but then I hit the highway entrance and since my car did not have 4-wheel drive I got stuck in the deep snow which hadn’t been plowed yet. Everyone was honking at me and the vehicle in front of me was sliding all over the road and I prayed he wouldn’t end up hitting me. The people behind me got out of their vehicles and started to push me up to where the first vehicle had made a path. They told me do not stop no matter what. I got going and avoided the vehicle that was still sliding all over and got to the entrance to the highway itself. Once I pulled out on the road it was easy going.

I made it to work and just a little late and then had to struggle across the parking lot from where I finally found a spot to park in. The lot wasn’t big enough and they had overflow parking in another lot. It made for a long walk lugging my totebags and handbag.

Finally the snow stopped while I was working and I made it home a little bit easier than the trip in since they had 9 hours to work on the roads.

Tessa – 

Advocate for mental health and invisible illnesses

New Author’s Website – http://www.tessadeanauthor.wordpress.com

Author – Old Writing –  http://www.finallyawriter.wordpress.com

About my life –  http://www.tessacandoit.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop Prompts For May 9, 2024”

    1. I do hate the snow and that year we had several storms that dumped 2 feet of snow each time. The last few years we have had very little snow, but I am sure it will change again one of these years.

      Like

      1. Yeah that is my fear as well. Thankfully I don’t drive anymore, but I still need the weather to cooperate for whoever is taking me somewhere.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.