Fiction, Flash Fiction, Friday Fictioneers, Photo Prompt, Prompt

19 MARCH 2024 Friday Fictioneers

Rochelle’s Rules:

**********

Caught Ya!

By Tessa Dean March 2024

Yvonne strolled through the store, looking at all the items available. She was looking for a space where she could shoplift a few items and put them in her tote bag without being seen. After looking around she made what she hoped was a good decision.

She lifted the items and secreted them in her bag, turning around to look for the closest exit. She didn’t think anyone had seen her, so she stepped outside the door.

An arm on her shoulder detained her. “Do you plan on paying for that?” She started to cry and stammered out a yes.

**********100 words**********

Tessa – 

Advocate for mental health and invisible illnesses

New Author’s Website – http://www.tessadeanauthor.com

Author – Old Writing –  http://www.finallyawriter.wordpress.com

About my life –  http://www.tessacandoit.wordpress.com

18 thoughts on “19 MARCH 2024 Friday Fictioneers”

    1. Thank you! It was definitely intentional. I don’t see how something like that is forgetful. Now it could be a call for attention. Although there are a lot of people who always shoplift.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I suppose you are right although I don’t believe in stealing for any reason. I guess I would have to be in her shoes to really judge her. I have neever been in that position. Ran out of words so security had to be mile LOL!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I had a client years ago who took great pride in her expertise in shoplifting, but was frightened because she got caught. Simple answer: Stop it! Just stop it.

    She didn’t much care for my advice. Felt she had a right to steal because she was poor. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am poor, but I certainly don’t feel that gives me the right to steal. I think it has to do with our upbringing. It would never occur to me to take something that did not belong to me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Been there done that, as a young teen. Back then they just called your parents to pick you and do the punishing. Now it’s the police, prosecutor’s office, and standing in front of a referee. Nobody who gets caught ever thinks they will! 

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.